Time limitations for making a claim
Our country’s justice system provides for liberal access to courts so that people can resolve their legal disputes. If someone is harmed and they believe it is due to another person’s fault, they are entitled to bring a lawsuit. There are certain restrictions, however, on when someone can bring a lawsuit. These are known as statutes of limitations. They establish deadlines on when a lawsuit must be brought. These deadlines vary depending on the type of case. Each State sets its own time limitations, In Connecticut for example, if someone is injured in a car accident, they must start a lawsuit within 2 years from the date of the accident. If they believe they have been injured due to a doctor’s or hospital’s negligence, the statute of limitations is two years from when they discovered or should have discovered that they were injured, but no later than 3 years from the date of the negligent act. Under certain circumstances the law allows the deadlines to be extended. If they have a dispute over a written contract the statute of limitations is 6 years.
Certain claims against a Town or State of Connecticut require that the Town or State be put on notice of the claim within as short a time as 60 days.
The reason for these time limitations is so that the person defending a lawsuit is able to investigate the claim and defend themselves while witnesses’ recollection are fresh and the evidence is available to them.
It is important for anyone who believes they have a valid claim to consult with an attorney. You can not wait until the last minute. Attorneys need time to investigate the claim before filing a lawsuit before the time limit runs out.
DISCLAIMER: This site and any information contained herein are intended for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. See competent counsel for advice on any legal matter.